WEDNESDAY

miyerkuLIST vol.01: Favorite 80s Movies

{miyerkuLIST is a series of blog posts I make on Wednesdays. Here, you’ll find top ten countdowns or just a list of ten items in no particular order featuring different categories (e.g. top 10 favorite authors, 10 summer essentials). *Disclaimer: everyone has their own different opinions and preferences and I don’t expect all of mine to be similar to yours. Idk. These are just my lists! Bahaha. }

Born in the 90’s, I am very regretful of the fact that I wasn’t born a decade or two earlier. I was on highschool when I first discovered the wonderful era that is the 80’s. I became practically obsessed over the amazing music, memorable fashion, the TV shows, culture, and especially the movies. Truly, I became nostalgic over something I haven’t even experienced first hand.

There’s just so much material for reminiscing; yes, the 80’s were a goldmine of wonder, and undoubtedly was the best decade for a child to grow up in.. a tragic story for me.

Sharing a personal part of myself, here are ten 80’s movies that are truly special to me and would definitely make you fall in love with the 80’s, too!:

10. E.T. the Extra Terrestrial (1982)

rating: 3/5

A troubled child summons the courage to help a friendly alien escape Earth and return to his home-world.

I’m not a fan of movies that involve aliens (although I believe they are real 😉 ) but this one’s totally an exception. I’ve seen this when I was still little and have always loved it because of the lessons and the creativity it taught me as a child. It’s a great film to grow up to.

9. Stand By Me (1986)

rating: 3/5

After the death of a friend, a writer recounts a boyhood journey to find the body of a missing boy.

This movie is the home of my very fav actors! They were all young kids but were extremely moving and powerful in their characterization. Also, the plot is bloody brilliant.. and have I mentioned how amazing all the actors are?

8. Back To The Future (1985)

rating: 3/5

A young man is accidentally sent thirty years into the past in a time-traveling DeLorean invented by his friend, Dr. Emmett Brown, and must make sure his high-school-age parents unite in order to save his own existence.

This one’s a feel-good-for-all-ages film. I’ve watched this a couple times now and I still have a good time. With its great storyline and genius cast, what’s not to love? Plus, there’s definitely nothing like a time travel movie y’know.

7. When Harry Met Sally (1989)

rating: 4/5

Harry and Sally have known each other for years, and are very good friends, but they fear sex would ruin the friendship.

This movie is very dear to my heart and it grows like an old wine. The script is gold (until now) and you’d definitely fall in love with the characters’ funny and witty romance, with no choice. It’s one hell of a ride watching this film.. it’s chaos and beauty all at once.

6. Sixteen Candles (1984)

rating: 4/5

A young girl’s “sweet sixteenth” birthday becomes anything but special as she suffers from every embarrassment possible.

Sixteen Candles definitely personified what the 80’s was all about. The story is simple enough, but it works so well. Molly Ringwald (my fav 80’s teen actress) is particularly likeable in this, and she is just irreplaceable in her part.

5. Say Anything (1989)

rating: 4/5

A noble underachiever and a beautiful valedictorian fall in love the summer before she goes off to college.

Aside from the fact that this is a John Cusack film, I love this movie because it couldn’t be more brave and honest with its message. This film was bold with its intentions and was, I think I would call, an HQ picture of what reality is. It’s a smart and genuine film that made me laugh, cry, and go crazy. Love love love this. (fav scene in the gif)

4. Some Kind Of Wonderful (1987)

rating: 5/5

A young tomboy, Watts, finds her feelings for her best friend, Keith, run deeper than just friendship when he gets a date with the most popular girl in school.

I know it’s not as well known, but this film came together so well that it can’t be denied. A great mix of comedy and teen melodrama, this movie shows just how hard it is to open up yourself and let someone know how much you care and also how one can be blind and not see love in front of their eyes.. *violently finishes a pint of ice cream while crying*

3. Can’t Buy Me Love (1987)

rating: 5/5

A nerdy outcast secretly pays the most popular girl in school one thousand dollars to be his girlfriend.

Admittedly, I love those cheesy 80’s teenage love stories and this is by far my favorite (I swear it isn’t because Patrick Dempsey is the love of my life). Can’t Buy Me Love is a sweet romantic comedy that’s still great after all these years. Safe to say that this was and still is the best teen flick of the 80’s! People had been calling this film cliché tho and yes, it might be a little bit true. But what’s that saying again? Cliché’s are cliché’s for a reason.. it’s because they work. Always! Can’t Buy Me Love is a gem I am forever grateful for.

2. The Breakfast Club (1985)

rating: 5/5

Five high school students, all different stereotypes, meet in detention, where they pour their hearts out to each other, and discover how they have a lot more in common than they thought.

This movie is one, if not THE best 80’s film there is. The fact is, every teen character in this movie can be related to someone we knew in highschool. With the direction of John Hughes, shot chronologically with such quotable golden script, with several legendary improvised and impromptu scenes by the best 80’s actors that people still talk about today, I truly madly fell in love with this movie. Truth is, I didn’t just watch this film. This film reached out to me, grabbed ahold of me, and have never let me go since. A part of me, is me, because of this movie. 🙂

1. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

rating: 5/5

A high school wise guy is determined to have a day off from school, despite what the principal thinks of that.

First of all let me just say that this movie is genuinely, crazy funny, watch-it-sixteen-times-and-it-never-gets-old kind of movie. I remember watching this and questioning what I’ve been doing all my life. Ferris Bueller might be an “ass” but hey, he’s one hell of an adventure-fetish-makes-you-wanna-do-crazy-stuff-yourself-breath-takingly-awesome-ass. I feel so good and carefree at the mere thought of this film. 😉 If you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favor and watch already! Much loved and much quoted, my favorite 80’s movie still stands the test of time as a gripping, funny, high school caper! By the way, this is another John Hughes film, oh what would the 80’s be without him?!

There you have the 10 best 80’s movies for me. Feel free to check ’em all out!

Have a great day!

*credits to imdb.com for the movie summaries*

(P.S. Yes, I know I posted this eons ago on my old site but hey!! It’s mine and it’s something to blog on a Wednesday. :P)

Leave a Reply

